Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

World Heritage Sites


World Heritage Sites are designated by UNESCO as exceptional places of ‘outstanding universal value ... belonging to all the peoples of the world, irrespective of the territory on which they are located’.

There are currently six World Heritage Sites in Scotland:

• St Kilda

• The Old and New Towns of Edinburgh

• Heart of Neolithic Orkney

• New Lanark

• The Forth Bridge

• The Antonine Wall

The HES archive includes a wealth of material illustrating the World Heritage Sites including historic prints and drawings, modern survey photographs and aerial views highlighted in this gallery.

The archive can be consulted in our Search Room and through our online resources. This includes Canmore where new images and information are added every day through ongoing surveys of Scotland's built heritage, as well as through an active digitisation programme of negatives, prints and drawings.