Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Archaeology Notes

Date 1977

Event ID 698176

Category Descriptive Accounts

Type Archaeology Notes

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/event/698176

NS04NW 17 centred 002 468

On the low ground near the North Sannox Burn are the remains of a small settlement cleared for sheep in 1829. The dry-stone walls of two houses are visible (probably byre-dwellings with cruck trusses) together with the corn- drying kiln, old field boundaries, clearance cairns, and with the head-dyke clearing showing above. This small settlement may well have originated as a shieling associated with a larger site near the present farmhouse, at NS 009 466.

Source: J N G Ritchie 1973.

Two separate groups of ruined buildings. The W group, centred NS 001 468, comprises the ruins of four sub-divided rectangular buildings between 11.5m and 20.0m in length and 5.0m in average width. The walling is 0.8m wide and up to 2.0m high. There are also two other smaller much ruined buildings.

The E group, centred NS 004 468, is now overgrown with bracken, scrub and small trees. It comprises two main buildings also sub-divided and each measuring 18.5m by 5.5m with walling 0.8m thick and up to 1.5m high. There are also the remains of seven other, smaller, much ruined buildings.

Field walls, clearance mounds and the head dyke are still clearly visible on the bracken-covered hillside, but the corn-drying kiln could not be located.

Visited by OS December 1977.

People and Organisations

References