Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Crosshill

Colliery (19th Century)

Site Name Crosshill

Classification Colliery (19th Century)

Canmore ID 84144

Site Number NS87SE 24

NGR NS 8754 7233

Datum OSGB36 - NGR

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/site/84144

Ordnance Survey licence number AC0000807262. All rights reserved.
Canmore Disclaimer. © Bluesky International Limited 2025. Public Sector Viewing Terms

Toggle Aerial | View on large map

Digital Images

Scanned copy of image from annual report of Miners' Welfare Fund, 1938, Figure 1, Crosshill Pavilion, Fife.
Scanned copy of image from annual report of Miners' Welfare Fund, 1938, Figure 1, Crosshill Pavilion, Fife.

Administrative Areas

  • Council Falkirk
  • Parish Slamannan
  • Former Region Central
  • Former District Falkirk
  • Former County Stirlingshire

Activities

Field Visit (29 July 1992)

NS87SE 24 8754 7233

Situated to the E of a track, 400m SW of Crosshill, this coal mine, which is depicted on the 2nd edition of the OS 6-inch map (Stirlingshire 1899, sheet xxxv), is visible as a bing with a pit to the NNW. The Catalogue of Plans of Abandoned Mines indicates that the mine was abandoned in 1882 (Mines Department 1931).

(CSW 4439)

Visited by RCAHMS (PJD) 29 July 1992

References

MyCanmore Image Contributions


Contribute an Image

MyCanmore Text Contributions