Fortingall, General
Village (19th Century)
Site Name Fortingall, General
Classification Village (19th Century)
Alternative Name(s) Fortingal
Canmore ID 166601
Site Number NN74NW 59
NGR NN 73809 47125
NGR Description Centred NN 73809 47125
Datum OSGB36 - NGR
Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/site/166601
- Council Perth And Kinross
- Parish Fortingall
- Former Region Tayside
- Former District Perth And Kinross
- Former County Perthshire
NN74NW 59 centred 73809 47125
EXTERNAL REFERENCE:
Fortingall.
National Library of Scotland.
Nattes drawings, Vol.4, No. 10. - 1 drawing.
(Undated) information in NMRS.
Photographic Survey (June 1964)
Photographic survey of the exterior of buildings in Fortingall, Perthshire, by the Scottish National Buildings Record in June 1964.
Publication Account (2004)
The village owes its current picturesque form to Sir Donald Currie who owned the Garth and Fortingall estates in the later 19th century. He employed James Marjoribanks Maclaren, an accomplished young architect from Stirlingshire, based in London to redevelop the estate. In 1886 Maclaren designed the farmhouse and steading at Balnald and then in 1889 the Glenlyon farmhouse and steading followed. That same year the famous and influential thatched cottages at Kirkton were built. In 1890 Maclaren died at the age of 37. Dunn and Watson continued the practice completing Maclaren's designs for the Fortingall Hotel and the alterations to Glenlyon House. Dunn and Watson designed the now slated New Cottages in 1914 and this 'idyllic arts and crafts' village was completed in 1936 when W Curtis Green added the Village Hall.
Information from ‘RCAHMS Excursion Guide 2004: Commissioners' Field Excursion, Perth and Angus, 31 August – 2 September 2004’.
