Archaeology Notes
Event ID 669513
Category Descriptive Accounts
Type Archaeology Notes
Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/event/669513
NJ66SE 17 66656 64520
(NJ 6666 6451) Ruins of St Brandan's Church (NR)
OS 6" map, (1938)
The church of St Brandan was mentioned in 1211 and 1214. It was abandoned in 1773 and since then has fallen into decay. The only reasonably preserved portions are the west wall and the belfry, which seem to be 17th century date.
D MacGibbon and T Ross 1887-92.
All that remains of this church is the west gable which contains a small rectilinear window above an entrance which bears the date '1723'. Above this window are the remains of an old belfry which has been superseded by a later plain belfry complete with bell.
Revised at 1/2500.
Visited by OS (WDJ), 2 October 1961.
No change.
Visited by OS (NKB), 19 January 1968.