Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Archaeology Notes

Event ID 659864

Category Descriptive Accounts

Type Archaeology Notes

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/event/659864

NH33NE 1.00 3964 3976

NH33NE 1.01 NH 3964 3976 Buildings

(NH 3963 3976) Dun Coille Struy (NR)

OS 6"map, Inverness-shire, 2nd ed., (1904)

Classified by Graham as a broch, and by Wallace as an apparent dun.

T Wallace 1886, 1913; A Graham 1949

Dun Coille Struy, a mutilated broch situated on the top of a steep rocky spur.

It is circular and measures 18.5m overall diameter with a wall thickness of 4.2m at the entrance in the W, whose N side has been destroyed by a track probably to facilitate robbing. The outer face is visible for most of the periphery, surviving to a height of 1.2m in the NE where it is well-built with a pronounced batter, but the inner face can only be seen in the SW for c. 6.0m near the entrance, where there is also a well-preserved oval guard chamber. There are probable remains of intra-mural cells, now obscured by tumble. Recent buildings are evident outside the entrance and within the broch.

Surveyed at 1:2500. (Visited by OS (R D) 20 July 1965)

Visited by OS (N K B) 20 July 1965.

People and Organisations

References