Publication Account
Date 1983
Event ID 1017703
Category Descriptive Accounts
Type Publication Account
Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/event/1017703
Alloa was not a recognised parish until 1600. Before that time, residents worshipped at a chapel dedicated to St. Mungo which swallowed up the mother church of Tullibody when they united in 1600 (Buchan, 1920, 2-3). A new church was erected in 1680: a 1673 entry in the Kirk Session Minutes mentioned the need to mend the ruinous structure. All that remains of the late seventeenth-century church is the west gable with the bell tower situated near the present church.
Information from Scottish Burgh Survey, ‘Historic Alloa: The Archaeological Implications of Development’ (1983).