Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Pricing Change

New pricing for orders of material from this site will come into place shortly. Charges for supply of digital images, digitisation on demand, prints and licensing will be altered. 

 

Publication Account

Date 1996

Event ID 1016442

Category Descriptive Accounts

Type Publication Account

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/event/1016442

This unusu al, rectangular, bow-fronted church with central bellcote replaced, in 1805, the pre-Reformation church whose remains still stand on the green kirkyard mound behind. Within all is light and airy, the pulpit being placed between two large windows on the east, with a horseshoeshaped gallery of light wood opposite. The font from the old kirk is here.

There is some doubt whether the grassy mound on which th e old kirk of St Bride's sits was a motte, the precursor of the castle at Kildrummy (no. 30). An arched Gothic recess on the north wall, possibly an Easter sepulchre, contains a fine relief effigy slab to the fourth laird of Brux, c 1400, which was reused in the 16th century.

Information from ‘Exploring Scotland’s Heritage: Aberdeen and North-East Scotland’, (1996).

People and Organisations

References