Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Engraving from northeast of Linlithgow Palace showing old entrance front. Titled 'Linlithgow. Plate II. The lake, which is a mile long, and a quarter of a mile broad, is well furnished with pikes, per ...

DP 096971

Description Engraving from northeast of Linlithgow Palace showing old entrance front. Titled 'Linlithgow. Plate II. The lake, which is a mile long, and a quarter of a mile broad, is well furnished with pikes, perches and eels. This Palace was the favourite residence of King James V. The greatest part of this building was in repair till the year 1746, when having been accidentally set on fire by the King's troops who were then in it, was totally consumed, and never since repaired. This second View fron the N.E. gives the ancient door of entrance to a room or hall near 100 feet long, where the Parliament of Scotland sometimes met. The sculpture is very beautiful. The old building, consisting of a round tower and part of a wall, are the remains of the Castle, or Palace. Taken in 1789.' [Adam de Cardonnell "Picturesque Antiquities of Scotland."]

Date 1789

Collection General Collection

Catalogue Number DP 096971

Category On-line Digital Images

Copy of RAB 292/216

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/collection/1231233

People and Organisations

Events

Attribution & Licence Summary

Attribution: © RCAHMS

You may: copy, display, store and make derivative works [eg documents] solely for licensed personal use at home or solely for licensed educational institution use by staff and students on a secure intranet.

Under these conditions: Display Attribution, No Commercial Use or Sale, No Public Distribution [eg by hand, email, web]

Full Terms & Conditions and Licence details

MyCanmore Text Contributions