Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Swona, Twinly Kirk

Altar (Medieval)(Possible), Chapel (Medieval), Skeo(S) (Post Medieval)

Site Name Swona, Twinly Kirk

Classification Altar (Medieval)(Possible), Chapel (Medieval), Skeo(S) (Post Medieval)

Canmore ID 9454

Site Number ND38SE 6

NGR ND 3817 8378

NGR Description Centred ND 3817 8378

Datum OSGB36 - NGR

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/site/9454

Ordnance Survey licence number AC0000807262. All rights reserved.
Canmore Disclaimer. © Bluesky International Limited 2025. Public Sector Viewing Terms

Toggle Aerial | View on large map

Digital Images

Administrative Areas

  • Council Orkney Islands
  • Parish South Ronaldsay
  • Former Region Orkney Islands Area
  • Former District Orkney
  • Former County Orkney

Archaeology Notes

ND38SE 6 centred 3817 8378

What may be up to seventeen unroofed structures, one of which was identified by Lamb as a church, are depicted on the 1st edition of the OS 6-inch map (Orkney and Shetland (Orkney) 1882, sheet cxxv).

Three unroofed structures, one of which is the church site, are shown on the current edition of the OS 1:10000 map (1982).

Information from RCAHMS (AKK) 20 November 2000.

'The Orcadian' in 1903 gives a brief description of Kirkgoe/Twinly Kirk, and also mentions that a nearby house was formerly used in distilling whisky.

M Howe 2006.

Activities

Field Visit (May 1981)

Among the confusion of kros, skeos and fishing-lodges at the

SW end of the island is a group of three contiguous side-to-side

buildings of which the two outer are in the relationship of

lean-tos to the inner. This inner buildings is Twinly Kirk and

is the oldest kirk on the island. Only its inner wall-face can

be seen and the upper parts of these have been rebuilt in the

context of the adjacent buildings. But the lower part of the

walls is carefully-laid quarried stones contrasting with the

cruder modern masonry. The ancient masonry stands some 0.6m

above present ground level and the buildings measures internally

5.2m E-W x 3.3m N-S. The N face of the wall of a W door is

traceable about the centre of the W wall. No other visible

features. - The N wall has bulged inwards a good deal. - Name

Kirk Geo applies to the broad geo with the stony beach in it, S

of the church. inf C Annal,

Information from Orkney SMR (RGL) May 81.

Field Visit (22 August 2014)

In addition to the lighthouse at the SW tip of the island of Swona, which is described elsewhere (see ND38SE 7), there is a cluster of other buildings and structures which includes what may be the ruins of a chapel (ND 38194 83781), a possible altar or leacht, at least twelve drystone skeos, two building platforms, and a concrete stance.

The chapel, previously referred to as Twinly Kirk, is rectangular on plan, measuring 5.5m from east to west by 3.5m transversely within well-built drystone walls up to 0.9m in thickness. The south wall stands to a height of 1.8m but has certainly been added to in relatively recent times; the north wall, in which there are two possible doorways, appears to be original but survives to a height of only 1.3m. Later enclosures adjoin the north, east and south sides. What may be an altar or leacht related to the use of the chapel is situated some 20m to its SW. Now reduced to a spread of stones measuring up to 5m across, edge-set slabs on its north and west sides indicate that it originally measured 2.9m square and 0.6m high.

To the west and NW of the chapel there are the remains of at least twelve rectangular drystone storage huts known as skeos, including one that has been partly destroyed by the construction of the lighthouse. The largest measures 10.1m by 1.2m within walls about 0.6m thick and 1.3m high. Two platforms, both aligned NNW and SSE, and possibly representing the remains of earlier buildings, are respectively situated 25m west and about 48m NW.of the chapel. A concrete stance, which lies some 45m SW of the chapel, probably represents the floor of a comparatively modern structure.

The 1st edition of the OS 25-inch map (Orkney 1882, Sheet CXXV.8) depicts the chapel and enclosures, fourteen skeos, an Ordnance Survey triangulation point that was probably removed when the lighthouse was built and a small circular enclosure 28m SW of the chapel which was not observed on the date of visit.

Visited by RCAHMS (GFG, AM) 22 August 2014.

References

MyCanmore Image Contributions


Contribute an Image

MyCanmore Text Contributions