Scheduled Maintenance
Please be advised that this website will undergo scheduled maintenance on the following dates: •
Tuesday 3rd December 11:00-15:00
During these times, some services may be temporarily unavailable. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause.
Swona, Rose Cottage
Farmstead (Post Medieval), Kiln Barn (19th Century), Threshing Machine (Post Medieval)
Site Name Swona, Rose Cottage
Classification Farmstead (Post Medieval), Kiln Barn (19th Century), Threshing Machine (Post Medieval)
Alternative Name(s) Lower Bigging
Canmore ID 297827
Site Number ND38SE 17
NGR ND 38935 84742
Datum OSGB36 - NGR
Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/site/297827
- Council Orkney Islands
- Parish South Ronaldsay
- Former Region Orkney Islands Area
- Former District Orkney
- Former County Orkney
ND38SE 17 38935 84742
An unnamed farmstead depicted as roofed on the current OS digital maps situated on the S side of a bay annotated as 'The Brook' has been identified on oblique aerial views taken in 2008 (RCAHMSAP 2008).
The map shows a L-shaped building, which on examination of the images is two buildings within a group. Several of the buildings retain their roofs whilst at least three are now unroofed.
The farmstead is depicted as roofed on the 1st Edition of the OS 6-inch map (Orkney and Shetland (Orkney) 1882, sheet cxxv).
This farm was probably one of those abandoned in the 1970's.
Information from RCAHMS (DE), February 2009
Field Visit (21 August 2014)
This farmstead, which was abandoned in 1974 and now comprises both roofed and unroofed buildings, is situated within an area of improved arable ground on the west coast of Swona. It was not recorded in detail on the date of visit but is fully described elsewhere (Findlay 2010). The 1st edition of the OS 25-inch map (Orkney 1882, Sheet CXXV.4) depicts at least five roofed buildings here (one of which is a kiln-barn), two unroofed buildings, three wells, and ten enclosures. The farmstead was expanded in the late 19th century, a process that included the construction of a house shown on the 2nd edition of the 6-inch map (Orkney 1903, Sheet CXXV).
The remains of other, presumably earlier, structures are visible in the rough ground immediately to the NE of the farmstead at ND 3896 8478. A font (ND38NE 1), referred to as a knocking stone by Findlay (2010) but probably associated with St Peter’s Chapel, stands outside the W corner of the main group of buildings.
Visited by RCAHMS (GFG) 21 August 2014.