Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

World War One Audit of Surviving Remains

Date 26 June 2013

Event ID 961754

Category Descriptive Accounts

Type World War One Audit of Surviving Remains

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/event/961754

The Tay Street drill hall occupied a site near the southern end of Tay Street, just north of the railway. It is described as having a frontage of 80 feet, a main section of two storeys and single-storey wings. The building is marked on the 2nd and 3rd epoch OS 1:2500 maps, although only labelled 'drill hall' on the earlier one. It was demolished in the 1990s.

In 1914 the Tay Street drill hall was the drill station for "B" Squadron, 1st Scottish Horse, HQ of and base for "A" and "B" Companies 6th battalion Black Watch, as well HQ of and base of No. 1 Company Highland Divisional Transport and Supply Column, Army Service Corps.

Information from HS/RCAHMS World War One Audit Project (GJB) 26 June 2013.

People and Organisations

References