Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

St George's United Free Church (Former)

Date 13 December 1993

Event ID 895097

Category Management

Type Site Management

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/event/895097

Erected by the Duke of Hamilton to replace the original 1774 church, this building is erected in the Early English style from pale brown sandstone with polished ashlar dressings of cream sandstone. A 2-stage buttressed spire rises in the south east, featuring a single lancet window at ground level and a tall Y-traceried window at the first floor. The tower is topped by a frieze of inset panels, a square pyramidal spire with lucarnes and an iron weathervane. An arched and gabletted central porch with a trefoil head, gabletted buttresses and a plain tympanum projects from the east elevation. 3-light lancet windows with hoodmoulds sit above, with a small cinquefoil window in the gablehead. The main body is composed of 5 bays separated by prominent gabletted buttresses , each of which contains a lancet window.

People and Organisations

References