Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Pricing Change

New pricing for orders of material from this site will come into place shortly. Charges for supply of digital images, digitisation on demand, prints and licensing will be altered. 

 

Archaeology Notes

Event ID 870663

Category Descriptive Accounts

Type Archaeology Notes

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/event/870663

ND39SE 66 37181 92758

The remains of the farmhouse of Little Bow have been identified from oblique aerial views taken in 2008 (RCAHMSAP 2008), situated about 120m N of Housegeo farmstead/croft (ND39SE 42). Visible are the footings of a single building, the SE gable end standing higher than the remainder.

The farmhouse is depicted as roofed on the 1st Edition of the OS 6-inch map (Orkney, 1882 sheet cxix), and decribed in the Object Name Book of the Ordnance Survey (ONB) as 'A small farmhouse and outhouse situated on the east side of Kirk Bay and 1/4 of a mile south east of the parish Church (ND39SE 16). Proprietor The Earl of Zetland' (Name Book).

Information from RCAHMS (DE), February 2009

People and Organisations

References