Pricing Change
New pricing for orders of material from this site will come into place shortly. Charges for supply of digital images, digitisation on demand, prints and licensing will be altered.
Archaeology Notes
Event ID 770151
Category Descriptive Accounts
Type Archaeology Notes
Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/event/770151
NT27NE 162 centred 2785 7710
See also NT27NE 57.00 and NT27NE 57.04 .
Leith Docks battery was situated on the outer face of the Imperial Dock (NT27NE 57.04), at a point where the sea wall changes angle. The battery consisted of two guns with ancillary support buildings. The battery is visible on a vertical air photograph taken during the war (RAF 614.J.SHT 775987, 1035, flown 1941) and is also just visible on an oblique photograph RAF 614.D.SHT.68.1 775987, 1500, flown 1941) and the remains are visible on a post-war vertical air photograph (RAF 106G/Scot/UK/118, 6002, flown 1946).
Information from RCAHMS (DE) August 1997
This coast battery has been demolished, but was located slightly inland of the present outer sea wall.
The construction of the battery was approved in 1915 and approval was given to tranfer two 6-inch guns (numbered 1335 and 1345) on CP II mountings from Hound Point (NT17NE 70). One gun was installed in September, the other in October 1916. In addition two Maxim .303 guns on tripod mountings were installed in October 1917.
The position was known as Black Rock Battery and closed in 1955, the guns having been removed in 1953.
J A Guy 1997; NMRS MS 810/5, 98-100; PRO WO/192/252.