Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Field Visit

Date 10 November 1988

Event ID 681572

Category Recording

Type Field Visit

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/event/681572

NO06SE 95 07136 60103

The remains of the farmstead of Croftinuran (Stobie 1783) lie to the E side of a farmtrack some 160m W of Balnakilly Cottage; the farmstead has been severely robbed and its E side has been partially covered by the farmtrack. On the N side of the yard, which appears to have been an artificially enlarged natural hollow in the E facing hillside, there is a robbed building measuring 10.6m ENE-WSW by 7m overall; the entrance to the building, which has been levelled into the slope, was not visible.

A kiln measuring 3.3m in internal diameter is situated in the SSW corner of the yard, and in the SE corner there is a roughly level platform, probably for a building. Traces of a fourth structure are visible under the revettment along the N edge of the trackway, which crosses the E side of the yard.

Visited by RCAHMS (JRS) 10 November 1988.

RCAHMS 1990.

People and Organisations

References