Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Accessing Scotland's Past Project

Event ID 561239

Category Descriptive Accounts

Type Accessing Scotland's Past Project

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/event/561239

In 1889, records show that four Beakers were held by Kelso Museum. All the objects were discovered in the vicinity of The Friar's, a cottage to the west of Kelso, situated on the banks of the Teviot. One of these Beakers was later given on permanent loan to the National Museum of Antiquities of Scotland.

Museum records note that the beakers were all found in 1815; they were all decorated in similar fashion and were of roughly similar sizes. No details are recorded about their discovery.

Text prepared by RCAHMS as part of the Accessing Scotland's Past project

People and Organisations

References