Field Visit
Date October 1983
Event ID 1200665
Category Recording
Type Field Visit
Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/event/1200665
NO89NW 8.00 84426 99995
NO89NW 8.01 84431 99970 Church Wall
The remains of this chapel stand within a walled burial-ground, 80m ENE of Maryculter House (NO89NW 9). Rectangular on plan, it measures 23m by 6.6m within walls 0.7m in thickness and now reduced to their lower courses. A piscina comprising a fluted bowl, supported by a shaft which rises from a water-holding base of 13th-century character, is incorporated in the S wall at the E end of the building, where there are also a number of moulded stones including fragments of windows and doors. Traces of an earlier enclosure to the burial-ground are visible extending beyond the limits of the present walled area. The chapel was founded by Walter Byset (1221-1236) and belonged to a house of the Knights Templar.
RCAHMS 1984, visited October 1983.
C Innes 1846; W Kelly 1889; J Cruikshank 1941; D E Easson 1957