Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Field Visit

Date 17 October 1908

Event ID 1088201

Category Recording

Type Field Visit

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/event/1088201

26. Defensive Enclosure, Glengelt.

About ½ mile north-west of the parish church, at the upper side of Glengelt farm and some 250 yards back from the Haughy Burn, are the remains of the so-called ‘Roman Camp’ of Channelkirk, planned and described by General Roy. The indefinite remains of a rampart with stones protruding from the surface along its course may be seen running north-west for a short distance, and thereafter passing beneath the Kirkton hill march dyke, continuing parallel with the burn in a south-south-westerly direction.

See History of Channelkirk, p. 642; Roy, p. 61, pl. vi.

RCAHMS 1915, visited 17 October 1908.

OS Map: Ber., xiii. NW.

People and Organisations

References