Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Note

Date 1989

Event ID 1047591

Category Descriptive Accounts

Type Note

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/event/1047591

PWF Withall states that 'This is the largest of the complex of three [buildings] situated on the west side of the island and is named as the Engine House..there is no record of its origin or purpose, but it appears on the 1896 map of the island [J. Adams, 1974 based on the 2nd edition 25-inch Ordnance Survey map, Argyllshire, 1898, sheet CXXI.7] and is noted as 'Tigh Ensin Churrai', which is translated from the Gaelic as 'Currie's Engine House'.

Within the building, there remains the sides of a pit together with a concrete base (measuring 2.6m in length by 1.52m in width) with holding down bolts embedded in the concrete (32mm in diameter, threaded). Adjacent is a much overgrown depression or pit measuring 2.3sq.m. This could indicate the site of a pump, now removed.. There are also remains of vertical metal pipe which apears to be some form of riser pipe with a horizontal pipe bracket nearby'.

Withall also states that it is said 'by some' that the engine was in fact a pump used to keep quarries NM71NW 116 and 117 dry. Following this line of thought he suggests that the motive power was by steam raised in the nearby building NM71NW 134 and carried by ducted pipes as there was no evidence of a boiler installation in the 'Engine House'. Withall admits that this may be unlikely as it would be an inefficient method of power. Alternatively a beam engine could have been employed lifting water using some form of inclined plane. Again the problem is the form that the motive power would have taken.

See National Record of the Historic Environment manuscript: MS8087/1, (1989) description and block survey drawings.

People and Organisations

References