Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Publication Account

Date 1985

Event ID 1016144

Category Descriptive Accounts

Type Publication Account


The present church dates to 1804, was largely rebuilt in 1877 and enlarged in 1914. It is an attractive little country church with some fascinating early 20th century stained glass windows.

The east window was commissioned by Sir Robert and Lady Usher as a memorial to those who died in the Great War, 1914-1918, and incorporates stylised scenes from that war. The centre panel features a warship offshore, with marines handling equipment and marching in unifonn. To the left, infantry march against a back-drop of a field gun and tank; to the right cavalry pass by a soldier offering water to a wounded, bandaged colleague lying on the ground. All three panels provide a telling insight into the dress,equipment and techniques of the time, as well as a timely reminder of the sorrow and futility of war.

In addition to a number of interesting 17th-19th century gravestones outside the church, within are two fragments of hog backed stones with shingle 'roof patterns (see section 6), and a very small but complete sculpture of a robed figure, head resting on a pillar and hands folded upon chest as in prayer.

A little downstream from the church, 50m above an old ford and on the west bank, is a conical mound known locally as Castle Knowe (NT 595182); it is partly natural but the top is man-made. The northern slope is relatively gentle; access was barred by a crosstrench, now a grassy terrace; and on the summit there are traces of a roughly oval rampart. It has all the appearances of a 12th-13th centmy motte (see section 4).

Information from 'Exploring Scotland's Heritage: Lothian and Borders', (1985).

People and Organisations