Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Detail of doorway on East face of house. Drummond Castle.

SC 759997

Description Detail of doorway on East face of house. Drummond Castle.

Date 1/4/1999

Collection RCAHMS

Catalogue Number SC 759997

Category On-line Digital Images

Copy of D 47410 CN

Scope and Content Doorway from east, Drummond Castle, Perth & Kinross This shows a doorway which was probably added to the mansion in the 19th century. It is designed to look ancient and picturesque, with its heavy mouldings, armorial shield, carved initials and ornate scrolling ironwork hinges. Two large boot scrapers are a reminder that guests would use this door after walking in the estate grounds. This doorway leads from the mansion house onto a lawn with a large central fountain. The castle's spectacular formal parterre gardens and woodland beyond can be viewed from the adjacent terraces. Drummond Castle was built c.1490, but the complex of buildings visible today consists of a gatehouse which was added in 1630-6 by architect John Mylne III (1611-67), and an L-plan mansion built for the 4th Earl of Perth in 1689. The mansion was extended in the 18th or early 19th century, and remodelled in the Baronial style into its present form by architect G T Ewing in 1878 and 1900. Source: RCAHMS contribution to SCRAN.

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/collection/759997

File Format (TIF) Tagged Image File Format bitmap

Collection Hierarchy - Item Level

People and Organisations

Events

Attribution & Licence Summary

Attribution: © Crown Copyright: HES

Licence Type: Full

You may: copy, display, store and make derivative works [eg documents] solely for licensed personal use at home or solely for licensed educational institution use by staff and students on a secure intranet.

Under these conditions: Display Attribution, No Commercial Use or Sale, No Public Distribution [eg by hand, email, web]

Full Terms & Conditions and Licence details

MyCanmore Text Contributions