View of Cart Shed from north
B 7814
Description View of Cart Shed from north
Date 5/1986
Catalogue Number B 7814
Category Photographs and Off-line Digital Images
Copies SC 742262
Scope and Content Interior of cart shed from north, Guisachan, Highland Dating from 1860, this huge courtyard steading was designed by A & W Reid & Mackenzie for Lord Tweedmouth who bought Guisachan estate from William Fraser of Culbokie in 1854. Guisachan House is now a ruin, but the farm, which includes a picturesque dairy, and the model village of Tomich, are still standing. This shows the interior of the cart shed from the north, with wooden feeding troughs and hay in situ. Originally this space would have stored carts and implements used on the farm, but has now been converted to self-catering holiday accommodation. This area is now an open-plan living area with a fitted kitchen. Upstairs is one double bedroom, one twin bedroom and a bathroom. Tomich is 24km west of Drumnadrochit on a single-track road which comes to an end shortly after the village. In 1939 furnishings, tiles and lead were sold from Guisachan House and the estate was split up, a large part of it going to the Forestry Commission. Guisachan Farm is now a series of holiday cottages known as Tomich Holidays. There is accommodation in the dairy and steading plus chalets which have been built more recently. Source: RCAHMS contribution to SCRAN.
Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/collection/242124
Attribution: © RCAHMS
You may: copy, display, store and make derivative works [eg documents] solely for licensed personal use at home or solely for licensed educational institution use by staff and students on a secure intranet.
Under these conditions: Display Attribution, No Commercial Use or Sale, No Public Distribution [eg by hand, email, web]