Pricing Change
New pricing for orders of material from this site will come into place shortly. Charges for supply of digital images, digitisation on demand, prints and licensing will be altered.
Watching Brief
Date 30 January 2012
Event ID 933771
Category Recording
Type Watching Brief
Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/event/933771
Alder Archaeology was commissioned by Perth and Kinross Heritage Trust to undertake an archaeological watching brief (site code ME03) on groundworks for a new disabled access path from Meigle parish church (centred on OS GR NO 287 445), through the graveyard to the museum south of the church. Meigle parish churchyard has been a burial ground since Pictish times and sculptured stones have been recovered from the burial ground and from the fabric of an earlier church which was destroyed by fire in 1869. Groundwork for the new route required the excavation of a shallow track 0.15m deep and 1.20m wide. The watching brief was undertaken 30 January 2012 and no significant archaeological remains were found. The foundation remains of the former graveyard wall were uncovered where it had been demolished in the 19th C to create an opening. A large deposit of disarticulated human bone was found close to the surface in the graveyard, which was then reburied at a deeper level. It was established that the bones had been collected and reburied close to the surface when a field drain had been inserted through the graveyard in the 19th C. Some structural remains (brick and stone) from disturbed 19th C grave markers and a small amount of 19th-20th-C pottery and glass was recovered. No further archaeological work will be required for the new access route.
Information from Oasis (alderarc1-119543) 14 March 2012