Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Edinburgh, Wrychtishousis

House (Period Unassigned), Tower (Period Unassigned)

Site Name Edinburgh, Wrychtishousis

Classification House (Period Unassigned), Tower (Period Unassigned)

Alternative Name(s) Wright's Houses; Wrychtis Housis; Mansionhouse; Balganie House; Burghmuir Castle

Canmore ID 52610

Site Number NT27SW 140

NGR NT 2474 7249

Datum OSGB36 - NGR


Ordnance Survey licence number 100057073. All rights reserved.
Canmore Disclaimer. © Copyright and database right 2019.

Toggle Aerial | View on large map

Administrative Areas

  • Council Edinburgh, City Of
  • Parish Edinburgh (Edinburgh, City Of)
  • Former Region Lothian
  • Former District City Of Edinburgh
  • Former County Midlothian

Archaeology Notes

NT27SW 140 2474 7249

Wrychtishousis, a picturesque mansion, property of the Napier family, was demolished in 1800 and Jamed Gillespie's Hospital erected on the site. First known as Burgh Muir Castle or Barganie House, it consisted of a peel-tower to which later additions were made, perhaps on the site of an earlier house.

D Wilson 1873; J Grant 1882; J Geddie 1911; C J Smith 1978.

Architecture Notes

The House was demolished in 1800 and Gillespies Hospital built on the site..

Information from Architecture Catalogue slip:

'Fireplace, sun-dial and carved stones from Wright's Houses now at Woodhouselee, Midlothian. See under Woodhouselee. Also at St Margaret's Hope, North Queensferry (GH, 1992) See SDD lists.'

It is unclear what the following entry on a catalogue slip refers to:

NMRS Miscellaneous:

Society of Antiquaries of Scotland - Sir Daniel Wilson's "Old Edinburgh", Volume II (1750 - 1800) - 3 Engravings

However, it may be presumed that it refers to three books, with engravings, relating to Daniel Wilson's 'Memorials of Edinburgh in the Olden Time', as listed in the Bibliography.

See also: NT27SW 968 Edinburgh, Wright's Houses (Village), General

NT27SW 2735.00 2475 7248 Gillespie's Hospital/Gillespie's Schools/Royal Blind Asylum and School

NT27SW 2735.01 2483 7255 Entrance Lodge

NT27SW 2735.02 2474 7246 Stores

NT27SW 2735.03 2473 7249 Workshop

NT27SW 2735.04 2480 7247 Workshop


MyCanmore Image Contributions

Contribute an Image

MyCanmore Text Contributions