Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Ballachulish, Episcopal Church Of St John

Church (Period Unassigned)

Site Name Ballachulish, Episcopal Church Of St John

Classification Church (Period Unassigned)

Alternative Name(s) St John's Episcopal Church; St John's Episcopal Chapel

Canmore ID 105462

Site Number NN05NE 19

NGR NN 06774 58477

Datum OSGB36 - NGR

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/site/105462

Ordnance Survey licence number 100057073. All rights reserved.
Canmore Disclaimer. © Copyright and database right 2020.

Toggle Aerial | View on large map

Digital Images

Administrative Areas

  • Council Highland
  • Parish Lismore And Appin (Lochaber)
  • Former Region Highland
  • Former District Lochaber
  • Former County Argyll

Recording Your Heritage Online

St. John's Episcopal Church, Peter MacNab of Oban, 1842 Viewed from the east, steeply-pitched gables with simple lancets step back to a winged nave pinned to the encircling graveyard as if poised for flight. Chancel added by David Mackintosh, 1888. Inside, an oak and walnut altar and gilded reredos by J. W. M. Wedderburn, 1888. The graveyard bristles with orderly ranks of crosses and Ballachulish slate graveslabs, mostly 19th century, with inscriptions of fine quality. Much older is the hearse house - local tradition has it that this was the store house from which Bishop Forbes preached in 1770; it was later consecrated as a chapel. Old Rectory, 1860s, with earlier dwelling of 1838 to rear, completes the group.

Taken from "Western Seaboard: An Illustrated Architectural Guide", by Mary Miers, 2008. Published by the Rutland Press http://www.rias.org.uk

Architecture Notes

NN05NE 19.00 06774 58477 St John's Episcopal Church

NN05NE 19.01 06763 58501 Burial-Ground

Architect: MacNab, Oban, 1842 (Chancel added 1888)

References

MyCanmore Image Contributions


Contribute an Image

MyCanmore Text Contributions