Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

St Andrews, University Of St Andrews, General

University (15th Century)

Site Name St Andrews, University Of St Andrews, General

Classification University (15th Century)

Canmore ID 104697

Site Number NO41NE 69

NGR NO 49 16

Datum OSGB36 - NGR

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/site/104697

Ordnance Survey licence number AC0000807262. All rights reserved.
Canmore Disclaimer. © Copyright and database right 2024.

Toggle Aerial | View on large map

Digital Images

Administrative Areas

  • Council Fife
  • Parish St Andrews And St Leonards
  • Former Region Fife
  • Former District North East Fife
  • Former County Fife

Architecture Notes

NO51NW

ARCHITECT: Reginald Fairlie, 1938, Gate in College precinct wall opposite

Swallowgate

Mills & Shepherd, 1918, Dining Room

see also

NO51NW 8.00 ST ANDREWS, South Street, St Mary's College

NO51NW 10 ST ANDREWS, North Street, St Salvator's College Church

NO51NW 21 ST ANDREWS, 71 North Street

NO51NW 114 ST ANDREWS, St Mary's Place, University Union

NO51NW 202 ST ANDREWS, North Street, Younger Hall

NO51NW 249 ST ANDREWS, South Street, University Library

NO41NE 46 ST ANDREWS, University of St Andrews, Andrew Melville Hall

NO51NW 253 ST ANDREWS, University of St Andrews, Bute Medical Buildings

NO51NW 254 ST ANDREWS, University of St Andrews, Gatty Marine Laboratory

NO51NW 257 ST ANDREWS, University of St Andrews, Bell-Pettigrew Museum

NO51NW 258 ST ANDREWS, University of St Andrews, St Salvator's College

Activities

Publication Account (1981)

St. Andrews boasts the oldest university in Scotland: it received its bull of foundation in 1413. The bull allowed for five faculties - canon law, civil law, theology, medicine and the liberal arts. These faculties had varying fortunes. For example, medicine was taught only spasmodically until the sixteenth century (Nicholson, 1975, 273) and in the poverty-stricken eighteenth century, the university sold medical degrees. St. John's College was the cornerstone of the university, formally established in 1419. Its main teaching sphere was to be arts and theology, but after 1461 the building fell out of use (Cowan, 1976, 232). Possibly St. John's had been superseded by the establishment of St.Salvator's College in mid-century. The stately tower and chapel beneath are part of Bishop Kennedy's original foundation, but the class rooms round about it are modern. The early sixteenth century witnessed the foundation of two more colleges, St. Leonards and St. Marys. St. Leonard's Chapel boasts some early work, but what remains of St. Mary's College has been considerably worked over and modernised (RCAM, 1933, 248-9). The University library was built in 1612 over the foundations of St. John's College. In 1747, the college of St. Leonard united with St. Salvator to help meet the financial needs of the institution.

Information from ‘Historic St Andrews: The Archaeological Implications of Development’ (1981).

References

MyCanmore Image Contributions


Contribute an Image

MyCanmore Text Contributions