Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Field Visit

Date 21 April 1989

Event ID 1096240

Category Recording

Type Field Visit


This souterrain complex, which was discovered in 1878, is situated in a fenced area in an arable field. It was extensively excavated in the 19th century and, for the greater part, is still exposed to view, although it is now overgrown and dilapidated.

The complex comprises three interconnecting passages:

(1) a broad W passage which, with its two entrances and terminal bulge, could stand as a souterrain in its own right;

(2) a central passage, also with two entrances, and

(3) an E passage, also with two entrances.

The passage walls, which measure up to 2m in height, are all corbelled, and considerable stretches of roofing slabs remain in situ, particularly over the E passage. Two of the entrances have rebated jambs, and there are two aumbries in the E passage and another in the W passage. Two of the footing-stones of the souterrain are cup- marked, as are two probably-displaced lintel stones. A fifth stone (NO23NE 1.06) bears enigmatic graffiti of unknown date. Most of the finds from the excavations, which included Roman coins, a bronze pin, querns, flints and beads, have been lost, but fragments of a Form 37 Samian bowl are preserved in Brechin Library (under accession number ADM B 1977.295a). Visited by RCAHMS (JRS) 21 April 1989.

People and Organisations