Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

In recognition of the essential restrictions and measures imposed by the Scottish and UK Governments, we have closed all sites, depots and offices, including the HES Archives and Library, with immediate effect. Read our latest statement on Coronavirus (COVID-19).

Edinburgh, 52 Spylaw Bank Road, Sir William Fraser Homes. View from South.

SC 548597

Description Edinburgh, 52 Spylaw Bank Road, Sir William Fraser Homes. View from South.

Catalogue Number SC 548597

Category On-line Digital Images

Copy of ED 16299

Scope and Content Sir William Fraser Homes, No 52 Spylaw Bank Road, Colinton, Edinburgh Spylaw Bank Road climbs from the valley of the Water of Leith at St Cuthbert's Parish Church up the steep hill to Lanark Road. Lined mainly with Victorian and Edwardian villas, it is part of a picturesque development on the heights above Colinton village. The Sir William Fraser Homes were designed in 1898-9 in a mixture of harl and red sandstone by Arthur Balfour Paul as homes for the elderly. The buildings, in a 17th-century Scottish style, enclose a courtyard with a central fountain. Sir William Fraser (1816-98), Depute Keeper of the Records of Scotland, left £25,000 to found a home for the elderly. The home, which bears his name, opened in 1901, and is now administered by the Merchant Company Endowment Trust. Source: RCAHMS contribution to SCRAN.


File Format (TIF) Tagged Image File Format bitmap

People and Organisations


Attribution & Licence Summary

Attribution: © RCAHMS

You may: copy, display, store and make derivative works [eg documents] solely for licensed personal use at home or solely for licensed educational institution use by staff and students on a secure intranet.

Under these conditions: Display Attribution, No Commercial Use or Sale, No Public Distribution [eg by hand, email, web]

Full Terms & Conditions and Licence details

MyCanmore Text Contributions