Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Interior. View of South East wall of Armoury Hall.

SC 457764

Description Interior. View of South East wall of Armoury Hall.

Catalogue Number SC 457764

Category On-line Digital Images

Copy of A 14505

Scope and Content South-east wall of the armoury hall in Inveraray Castle, Argyll and Bute John, 5th Duke of Argyll, inherited the title in 1770, and began to transform the interior of Inveraray Castle in 1782 in accordance with fashionable taste. French influence can be seen in the tapestry, furniture and carpets installed in the 1780s. The hall rises through a first-floor space to a ceiling which was originally vaulted at a height of 22m. There are balconies on the end walls and round-arched openings into the stair halls at the sides. The black marble floor probably dates to 1782. The architect Robert Mylne (1733-1814) transformed the interior of the castle from 1782-9. The armoury hall was originally designed by Roger Morris (1695-1749) and Mylne did not alter much of the original design, although he did install the weaponry. Source: RCAHMS contribution to SCRAN.


File Format (TIF) Tagged Image File Format bitmap

People and Organisations


Attribution & Licence Summary

Attribution: © RCAHMS

You may: copy, display, store and make derivative works [eg documents] solely for licensed personal use at home or solely for licensed educational institution use by staff and students on a secure intranet.

Under these conditions: Display Attribution, No Commercial Use or Sale, No Public Distribution [eg by hand, email, web]

Full Terms & Conditions and Licence details

MyCanmore Text Contributions