Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Kilchiaran Chapel, Kilchiaran. View of interior of remains from East.

SC 423702

Description Kilchiaran Chapel, Kilchiaran. View of interior of remains from East.

Date 1974

Collection Records of the Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Scotland (RCAHMS), Edinbu

Catalogue Number SC 423702

Category On-line Digital Images

Copy of AG 6883

Scope and Content View from east showing interior of chapel at Kilchiaran, Islay, Argyll and Bute This medieval chapel at Kilchiaran on the west of Islay's Rhinns peninsula, is dedicated to St Ciaran, hence the name 'Kil-(chapel)-chiaran'. Roofless by 1794, it was partly restored and reconstructed by the Islay Historic Buildings Works Group in 1972-3. The chapel is built of random rubble, the masonry consisting of slate, flagstones and boulders. The east gable stands to its full height, while the other walls are no higher than 1m. Two steps within a wall across the chapel lead to the raised chancel. This view looks from the raised chancel area into the nave. The main entrance to the chapel is on the right (north) wall, with the doorway to the chancel to the left. At the far end of the nave is the late medieval font which stands on a modern base. Source: RCAHMS contribution to SCRAN.

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/collection/423702

File Format (TIF) Tagged Image File Format bitmap

People and Organisations

Events

Attribution & Licence Summary

Attribution: © RCAHMS

You may: copy, display, store and make derivative works [eg documents] solely for licensed personal use at home or solely for licensed educational institution use by staff and students on a secure intranet.

Under these conditions: Display Attribution, No Commercial Use or Sale, No Public Distribution [eg by hand, email, web]

Full Terms & Conditions and Licence details

MyCanmore Text Contributions