Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Engraving of Tinnis Castle from the NW. Titled 'Tinnis or Thanes Castle. Situated on the summit of a hill, on the north side of the burn of Pow Sail, which separates the church of Drumelzier from the ...

DP 098461

Engraving of Tinnis Castle from the NW. Titled 'Tinnis or Thanes Castle. Situated on the summit of a hill, on the north side of the burn of Pow Sail, which separates the church of Drumelzier from the  ...

Description Engraving of Tinnis Castle from the NW. Titled 'Tinnis or Thanes Castle. Situated on the summit of a hill, on the north side of the burn of Pow Sail, which separates the church of Drumelzier from the grave of Merlin Caledonicus, near the head of Drumelzier haugh in Twedale, where this small rivulet falls ino Tweed. From the town of Drumelzier to the Castle a road has been cut, winding round the hill, which is very steep. This strong hold in former times belonged to the ancientThanes of Twedale, from whom it seems to have got its name. In the reign of Malcolm II. this Castle appears to have belonged to William de Tweedie, Lord Baron of Drumelzier. It is now the property of - Hay, Esq. of Drumelzier. This view is taken from the N. W. 1788.' [Adam de Cardonnel, "Picturesque Antiquities of Scotland," 1788.]

Date 1788

Collection General Collection

Catalogue Number DP 098461

Category On-line Digital Images

Copy of RAB 292/281

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/collection/1234354

People and Organisations

Events

MyCanmore Text Contributions