Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

Engraving of Tinnis Castle from the NW. Titled 'Tinnis or Thanes Castle. Situated on the summit of a hill, on the north side of the burn of Pow Sail, which separates the church of Drumelzier from the ...

RAB 292/281

Description Engraving of Tinnis Castle from the NW. Titled 'Tinnis or Thanes Castle. Situated on the summit of a hill, on the north side of the burn of Pow Sail, which separates the church of Drumelzier from the grave of Merlin Caledonicus, near the head of Drumelzier haugh in Twedale, where this small rivulet falls ino Tweed. From the town of Drumelzier to the Castle a road has been cut, winding round the hill, which is very steep. This strong hold in former times belonged to the ancientThanes of Twedale, from whom it seems to have got its name. In the reign of Malcolm II. this Castle appears to have belonged to William de Tweedie, Lord Baron of Drumelzier. It is now the property of - Hay, Esq. of Drumelzier. This view is taken from the N. W. 1788.' [Adam de Cardonnel, "Picturesque Antiquities of Scotland," 1788.]

Date 1788

Collection General Collection

Catalogue Number RAB 292/281

Category Print Room

Copies DP 098461

Permalink http://canmore.org.uk/collection/1131966

People and Organisations

Events

Attribution & Licence Summary

Attribution: © RCAHMS

You may: copy, display, store and make derivative works [eg documents] solely for licensed personal use at home or solely for licensed educational institution use by staff and students on a secure intranet.

Under these conditions: Display Attribution, No Commercial Use or Sale, No Public Distribution [eg by hand, email, web]

Full Terms & Conditions and Licence details

MyCanmore Text Contributions